Making an Annotation Private

Making an Annotation Private2018-05-21T14:05:13-07:00
  1. Home
  2. Help
  3. Tutorials and How-Tos
  4. Making an Annotation Private

If you’ve created an annotation in the Public layer or within a group, you can make the annotation private at any time.

Annotations Made in the Public Layer

1. Visit the page or document that contains the annotation you wish to edit.

2. Open the Hypothesis sidebar and make sure you are logged in.

3. Find the annotation you wish to make private, and click on the pencil icon at the bottom right of the annotation card:

4. At the bottom of the annotation edit window, click on the arrow next to the Post button:

5. You will now be able to choose from two privacy options: Public and Only Me. Select “Only Me” and click the “Post to Only Me” button to confirm:

Note: You must click “Post to Only Me” in order to complete the process of making your annotation private.

6. You will see a small lock icon next to your annotation, indicating that it is now private and visible to only you:

Annotations Made in Groups

1. Visit the page or document that contains the annotation you wish to edit.

2. Open the Hypothesis sidebar and make sure you are logged in.

3. Using the scope selector at the top left of the annotation sidebar, select the group you made your annotation in:

4. Find the annotation you wish to make private, and click on the pencil icon at the bottom right of the annotation card (as seen in Step 3 above).

5. At the bottom of the annotation edit window, click on the arrow next to the Post button (as seen in Step 4 above).

6. Select “Only Me” from the drop-down and click the “Post to Only Me” button to confirm (as seen in Step 5 above).

7. You will see a small lock icon next to your annotation, indicating that it is now private and visible to only you (as visible in Step 6 above).

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Community, Privacy and Accessibility at Hypothesis